my head hurts

Published December 7, 2012 by emotionless brain

Why is it that every school morning I get a headache. I had an epiphany today after I dropped my son off I watched him walk about 50 steps to get to the crosswalk, it was chilly and his hoodie was up but his head was down and when I got a glimpse of his face he was not animated looking as is his personality. He was not sad but solemn; I had a mental flash “if he does not find the good stuff at home he will seek it elsewhere”. That scares the bejeebies out of me. I ask myself “do I give him the good stuff at home?” I am sure most parents ask themselves the same questions. It seems once a child reaches a certain age they no longer communicate themselves to the parental units, and it will take years if ever again to be able to communicate effectively. As a mother I now truly understand how a mother’s heart aches for a child, and what makes the world seem so scary. But I also remember being a child and the feeling of being infallible, like no harm could ever come to me, or nothing can stop me.

I have made a promise to myself to try to live, love and laugh more, if not for myself for my children. So they will never “have” to look elsewhere for the good stuff.

Leave a Reply

