I have a Job

Published December 28, 2012 by emotionless brain

As I have previously blogged my company is making a 30 to 40% work force reduction. I survived, I am still gainfully employed. I wonder was it because I am such a nice and always agreeable person, not possible. I can be quite contentious, when an injustice is done, or there is something I am passionate about you better watch out I am a force not to be reckoned with. So why did they decide to keep me out of five people that my department was composed of? Could it be because I go to work every day (I do not believe in getting sick), could it be because when I am at work I work work work, rarely if ever taking a break? Could it be because I am a work-a-holic and the know it? Does it even matter? Who knows probably it is a combination of all the above.

How does an employee deal with the grief that co-workers are gone (not necessarily by choice)? Is it appropriate for me to feel guilty? I am grateful for my job, and I want to do a little victory dance because maybe for once in my life my unyielding work ethic is finally paying off . You see in the past my work-a-holic, loyal devoted employee has never been enough to get past my ability to be contentious. Or maybe I have actually finally grown up and are mastering the art of balance? My parents would be proud of me now.

Now that I am over the guilt, it is on to how the bloody heck am I supposed to as one person perform the tasks previously assigned to five people? Granted the clientele has been reduced by say 60%, it will take months before things are caught up. How do I in a non-contentious manner get my employer to understand what they ask is unrealistic, and I cannot do it. Saying that is not enough, I have tried.

Life is good, I have a job!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

