Anger, hummmmm

Published February 23, 2013 by emotionless brain

 

I will be honest I copied this above picture from another web site, but it resonates loudly to me. I remember years ago (and boy does that make me feel old, and proud) being angry all the time. I had reasons to be angry, it was justified.

What was not reasonable or justified was how I did or did not deal with the anger. It was a badge of honour (of sorts). What I realize now is that I was merely confused by the raw unadulterated emotions that are mixed up with anger. I was proud for having survived the situations that made me angry, looking back it took a few repeats for me to learn some of the valuable lessons.

I was (and still can be) sharped tongued, there is a difference between sharp tongue and split/forked tongue; by this I mean I can be cocky, snippy, possibly even down right crappy, but never ever have I spoken with malice or ill will. Never to speak with malice is somehow part of my nature, even when I have wanted to and it was warranted I have always refrained. Something my parents ingrained into me as if it was one of the Ten Commandments is “do unto others as you would have done unto you“. I try to teach this to my children (I hope it takes effect soon).

Something I learned when I took a course in DBT was Wise Mind [Wise mind is the balance between reasonable mind and emotion mind… it is the “middle way.”]

When something gets my hair up, or I start to feel that anxty feeling of I want to REACT  I stop, breathe, and breathe, and breathe. Which organically forces me to:

1) Focus on Breath

2) Drop Into Pauses

3) Visualize

4) Breathe “Wise” In, Breathe “Mind” Out

 

Life is good, Love for yourself and for others makes life better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Enhanced by Zemanta
10 comments on “Anger, hummmmm

  • We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your website offered us with valuable info to work on. You have done an impressive job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  • Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find
    It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.
    Darline Herschel Emely Derrick Ester Ben Tonie Dino
    Teresa Rodrick Mitsue Randal Eusebia Stacey Lavonda Arthur
    Janise Brandon Kristan Jess Annmarie Wendell Allyn Derick
    Keila Curt Tammara Eldridge Bree Lenny Tona Luther Laurene Mariano Kitty Arturo Sarah Kennith Felecia Charley Rosie Donte Carmela Louis Norah Kip
    Melissa Johnathon Carma Gil Olivia Chauncey
    Fannie Oswaldo Denisse Gus Sharon Domingo Glinda
    Lesley Minta Irving Altagracia Dong Kathryne Markus Lori
    Alfredo Candie Steven Lara Hiram Tawna Dario Deeann Loren Tracey Wesley Corey Miles Ja Garth Geri Carter Easter Harris Laurel Kent Moon Stephen Madonna Val
    Carleen Neal Liberty Jerold Lady Alejandro Billie Miles

  • Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in Safari.

    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem
    resolved soon. Thanks Judy

  • Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team
    of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in
    the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a outstanding job!

  • Thanks on your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.
    I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back sometime soon.
    I want to encourage continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

  • I just could not leave your web site before suggesting that I
    really loved the usual info an individual supply to your visitors?

    Is going to be back steadily in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  • Leave a Reply

