Monday June 10, 2013

Published June 10, 2013 by emotionless brain

I start my new job today. I am nervous and excited. I hope the lessons learned over the past few years will resonate louder than old behaviors. I am confident, but not arrogant, I will listen rather than talk. You see I sorta suffer from the broken wing syndrome, the need to help people. I do not always get the signs when people do not want help, or they hit overload or they do not understand me. Whatever the reason or diagnosis is as to why matters not, I have been diligently working on learning how to better read people so as to know when to slow down or even stop.

My muse/mensch/mentor from my last employer has been amazing, and so phenomenally supportive, I could not have made this transition without him or all the other amazing people in my life. While it may take a village to raise a child, it also takes a village to support an adult with the same diagnoses that a usually given to children and forgotten about in adulthood but do not always go away just because adulthood has set in. Such as ADHD, Aspergers, Sensory Integration Disorder, ODD, etc (no I do not have all of these, but what if I did?)

Life is good, I am employed, my son has been home for three days now, I will write about that later. My family is working on being back together. Feathers are happy, furbabies are happy, Toodles!!!!!!!!!!!1

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 comments on “Monday June 10, 2013

  • Congrats on starting the new job. I wish you tons of luck. I am grateful everyday that I work in a terrific office where everyone gets along and goes out of their way to help each other. I am very happy your son is home. This seems to be a turning point for you in a positive direction. Keep it up and keep us informed! 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

