first two days

Published June 12, 2013 by emotionless brain

At my new job have been booring, nothing but problems. Apparently a previous employee was untrustworthy and so they have all the computers locked down (I cannot access much of anything on the internet). There are problems in the network, the billing system is in disaster state.

I have always loved a challenge, but I am not being introduced as a manager, so I am a little perplexed. The IT guy is expected today so hopefully we will drill down the network problem and be able to move forward.

You ask with all this why am I bored? Because I am not being given all the autonomy I need to be effective, I get the owner was burned by the previous person, but I cannot fix problems and do what I do best without certain autonomy. We will see what happens.

My son is still at home (woot woot), I take the kids to camp tomorrow for a month. I will be able to better focus on work. A previous employer has reached out to me to spend a few hours a week cleaning up their system too, might be able to make some extra money this summer first time in years I am looking forward to it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 comments on “first two days

  • Try to hang in there. The first week or so is always the hardest at any new job. What kind of camp are your kids going to for a month? Maybe work will seem better when you don’t have to worry about the kids. At least your son is home, definitely something to be happy about. 🙂

    • My kids go to a Jewish Camp sleep away camp. I am both happy and not happy about my son returning home. I sleep better at night when he is home, but my days are tumultuous at best. Like a bad roller coaster, up one second and down the next in crash mode.
      You are correct the first week is difficult at a new job, even more so for someone like me. I am keeping a smile on my face and not being argumentative.

  • Leave a Reply

