not sure if changing jobs was a good choice

Published June 18, 2013 by emotionless brain

Well it has been over a week since I started my new job, and I am not sure it was the right choice (the lesser of the evils between the old job and this one). At the old job the pretty much left me alone to do my job, and utilized my skills. At the new job my skills have not even been introduced, much less tapped for utilization.

At present the absolute only thing I am doing is posting payments. The Doc (who adamantly insists on maintaining “CONTROL” of everything) is very confusing. She says one thing and does something else. I thought she hired me for the skill set I have for cleaning up a practice (just because someone is a Doctor does not mean they know how to run a business or a practice). Doctors are some of the worst business people I have ever met. It should be taught in medical school that just because you have initials after your name does not make you the end all to be all and does not provide the knowledge to run a practice. If you are a medical doctor, focus on what you love; being a doctor and treating patients. Let people like me take care of the rest, and just because I do not have a college degree does not mean I cannot perform the duties of a practice administrator (I have done it before).

Today while being a good girl and only doing what I was instructed to do which was post payments, I needed to go to a different function and found that my “securities” had been reduced and I could not access what I needed to. This is the first time in my life I have ever not had master access to a system for programming, you see I am honest to my own detriment. Reality check my new employer does not trust me, granted she is a drama queen and believes everything is a conspiracy, and that there are HIPAA  Police. How do I eloquently advise her that she is her own worst enemy, and she has not got a clue what she is doing when it comes to running a practice.

Life is good I am employed.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 comments on “not sure if changing jobs was a good choice

  • You seem to be caught between a rock and a hard place. I feel bad that your new boss is so under utilizing you. I don’t have any answers but I hope you can find a solution to your problem. I would say try talking to the boss but only you know what will work best. How is it going with the kids gone? Try to hang in there. You have the right idea, at least you are employed! 🙂

    • I miss the kids terribly, I love the peace and quiet in the house. It is amazing how much noise two children make without any noise making toys (I have been successful at avoiding any of those toys thus far).

      I will respond the the job scenario in my next post.
      Thank you for your kind words, words cannot express my appreciation.

  • Leave a Reply

