I guess you could say…

Published June 24, 2013 by emotionless brain

I let my hair down last night. It was a friends birthday celebration at a “Latin Restaurant and Club”. We all had fun, there were a bunch of us girlies, and a few guys in the group. The common denomination between all of us was the person celebrating her birthday. Personally I love watching Latin dancing but do not have a clue how to do it, and it has been easily 20 years since I have been club dancing.

That being said one of the guys in the group saw me standing there at one point bee-bopping, and drug me to the dance floor (during the band break so the music was different) and MADE me dance with him (honestly that is the only way to get me on the dance floor is to drag me). Well apparently that was all it took, he was smitten by me there after. Every time I glanced his way he was w a t c h i n g me. He left before I did, as he was saying goodbye he leaned over put something in my hand and whispered in my ear “call me”. I sat there for a moment, in shock. He was so sweet the way he did it, either that or I was smitten to and did not realize it.

The next day I called my friend, and told her about the interaction, she was so elated. She said one of the highlights for her that evening was seeing the two of us enjoying ourselves. I am somewhat of a turtle being that I do not crawl out of my shell easily nor willingly in social settings, but when I am drug out watch out cause I become a different creature, totally alive and vivacious.

So I took her advice and began texting with my new friend. I feel like a silly school girl, kind of giddy, and all that silliness. Totally out of my element, and incredibly unsure of myself I went to a movie with him last night. The movie was weird, funny and scary, whatever. After he came over (I never bring people into my house to visit, it is another long story), and we chatted. It was nice, when he left he hugged me and gave me a little peck for a kiss. I keep replaying the interaction in my head like a slow mo movie.

Life is good, I am employed, my kids are still at camp which means my house is peacefully quiet, I think someone is smitten with me ( I do not know how to be smitten with with someone, I have never really experienced it), feathers are all good, furbabies are all good (missing the kids).

4 comments on “I guess you could say…

  • I am so truly happy for you. With all the problems you have been facing lately you deserve to have good things happen to you. I am also very shy and have an extremely hard time talking to men especially in a social scene. You are very brave and I sometimes wish I could meet someone like that, but I do not go out so the chances of that happening is small. Unless I meet a guy in church or in the park on my exercise route, I look to be single for a long time. Please let us know how it goes.:)

    • I have been divorced for four and a half years, I have not dated because my entire life revolves around my kids. With my kids at camp I ventured out (finally) and took a chance (not my normal MO). Only time will tell if it will be worth it. I understand where you are coming from, and the best advice I can give (not that I have any room to give any) is have faith. What is meant to be will be, and without love in a dream it can never come true.

      • I was married for 22 years before my husband died just over 2 years ago. I married very young and was in a very controlling relationship. I am hoping that once my kids move out for good in August that I can spend more time on me. I hope to find a good guy, but I also know what I do not want. I guess for me it is once burned twice shy. I do hope everything works out for you. 🙂

      • You are on the road to healing. Thank you I hope it all works out the way I want it to (that would be a first). Keep reading my blog everyone will learn the outcome of it all.

  • Leave a Reply

