my reaction to another trigger

Published September 1, 2013 by emotionless brain

Today I received a five part text from a parent regarding an RSVP I responded to for my son to attend a Bar/Bat Mitzvah. Apparently in the RSVP I put “we wouldn’t miss it”, now on the invitation it clearly was addressed only to my son. My initial reaction was to tell the person to buggar off, and get a grip. Instead I responded with “I specifically saw the invitation was addressed to my son only”.

I felt the hair on the back of my neck standing upright, when I told my girlie about it her response was “so what”. So I am reflecting and trying to sort out why I felt a visceral response. Something about the correspondence triggered me. How does one get normal people to understand “triggers”, it is not only indicative of ADD/ADHD but also PTSD, and a variety of other dysfunctional emotional diagnosis.

I realize my responses to some things are in essence retarded and perceived as irrational, but really it is not necessarily my wise mind it may be the reaction before the wise mind kicks in. Does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

