time to say goodbye after 23 years

Published September 17, 2013 by emotionless brain

I have this friend that I have known for since 1990, supposedly (you see my faith in this) I was his beshert (the love of his life, his soul mate).

When Mr.P and I met (unbeknownst to me) he was still married, it took him nearly seven years to finally get divorced. I found out about his marriage a few months after we met, and I left town. Good bye, gone elsewhere, not interested. I told Mr.P he knew where I was if he was interested in me he would have to find his way to me, but only after his divorce was final. Obviously he never found his way to me, but we have stayed in touch over the past 23 years. This is the first time in a number of years we have both been single (supposedly). Four times this year he has reached out to me and said, coming to town, are you ready? Yesterday I responded with less than enthusiasm for the first time, I think it surprised both of us. I point blank told him I am here, been here for 23 years if he wants to plan a trip to visit me then do it. Do not call me up as you are flying thru town expecting a romp in the sack, because it is not going to happen. I want the whole kit caboodle and package. I will not go out of my way to try to accommodate him anymore.

I will always have a soft spot in my heart for Mr. P, but I cannot continue the emotional roller coaster he puts me thru. I figured out a long time ago he would never grow up enough to seek me out and I sure as heck was not going looking for him. I think it is time to cut ties with him for good.

This summer started out with such a bang, I thought it was going to be one of the best summers ever. Turns out it was one of the worst, my losses are still adding up.

Life goes on, I am still in motion and someday life will be good again (I think)

2 comments on “time to say goodbye after 23 years

  • It sounds to me like you deserve so much better than Mr. P. Don’t settle for anything less than the best. I believe that everything happens for a reason. If we are meant to be with someone it will happen. We could go crazy if we try to over think or analyze our future especially in regards to relationships. You know what you want and don’t want. Let your past experiences teach you the way. I know you will be fine. You are a strong person who is realistic and knows what she wants. Have a great week. 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

